2014 Melbourne Cup Final Field Confirmed

November 1st, 2014

The 2014 Melbourne Cup final field has been confirmed, highlighted by a talented mix of classy international raiders and local hopefuls.

Admire Rakti headlines the final field for the 2014 Melbourne Cup. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia

Admire Rakti headlines the final field for the 2014 Melbourne Cup. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia

Charging home to win the Group 1 Caulfield Cup (2400m) on October 18th and secure clear favouritism for the Race That Stops a Nation, talented Japanese stayer Admire Rakti has been confirmed in the 2014 Melbourne Cup final field but arguably faces the biggest test of his racing career to date in a field that includes the likes of Fawkner, Lucia Valentina, Red Cadeaux and Protectionist.

A barrier draw for the 2014 Melbourne Cup is due to be completed at 7pm AEST on Saturday evening.

Open an account and deposit at Ladbrokes.com.au to gain access to the best Melbourne Cup odds and take advantage of up to $500 in bonuses!

2014 Melbourne Cup Final Field

# Horse Trainer Jockey Weight Hcp Rating
1 ADMIRE RAKTI (JPN) Tomoyuki Umeda Zac Purton 58.5kg 114
2 FAWKNER Robert Hickmott Nick Hall 57kg 115
3 RED CADEAUX (GB) Ed Dunlop Gerald Mosse 57kg 111
4 CAVALRYMAN (GB) Saeed Bin Suroor Craig Williams 57kg 111
5 PROTECTIONIST (GER) Andreas Wohler Ryan Moore 56.5kg 110
6 SEA MOON (GB) Robert Hickmott Tommy Berry 56.5kg 105
7 MY AMBIVALENT (IRE) Roger Varian Andrea Atzeni 54.5kg 109
8 LUCIA VALENTINA (NZ) Kris Lees Kerrin McEvoy 53kg 110
9 SEISMOS (IRE) Marco Botti Craig Newitt 56kg 109
10 ROYAL DIAMOND (IRE) Johnny Murtagh Steven Arnold 55.5kg 108
11 JUNOOB (GB) Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 55.5kg 108
12 WHO SHOT THEBARMAN (NZ) Chris Waller Glen Boss 55kg 107
13 MUTUAL REGARD (IRE) Johnny Murtagh Damien Oliver 55kg 107
14 GATEWOOD (GB) John Gosden William Buick 55kg 107
15 WILLING FOE (USA) Saeed Bin Suroor James McDonald 55kg 107
16 PRECEDENCE (NZ) Bart & James Cummings Michael Rodd 54.5kg 104
17 BRAMBLES (NZ) Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 54kg 105
18 MR O’CEIRIN (NZ) Ciaron Maher 54kg 103
19 OPINION (IRE) Chris Waller Tye Angland 53.5kg 104
20 AU REVOIR (IRE) Andre Fabre Glyn Schofield 53.5kg 103
21 LIDARI (FR) Peter G Moody Ben Melham 53.5kg 105
22 ARALDO (GB) Michael Moroney Dwayne Dunn 53kg 100
23 UNCHAIN MY HEART David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Dean Yendall 51.5kg 98
24 SIGNOFF Darren Weir Joao Moreira 51kg 97