67 First Acceptors For 2012 Melbourne Cup

October 9th, 2012

A total of 67 horses have paid up for the 2012 Melbourne Cup when the first round of acceptances was taken this morning.

The Melbourne Cup, which will take place at Flemington Racecourse on Tuesday November 6, 2012, is worth an incredible $6 million in prize money.

Included in the Melbourne Cup 2012 first acceptances is Glencadam Gold, who is currently unbeaten in Australia.

The four-year-old gelding has won all four of his Australian starts, with his most recent being in the Group 1 The Metropolitan at Royal Randwick last weekend.

Glencadam Gold made a talented field look sub-par when he galloped away to win the $400,000 race by an unbelievable four lengths.

The Refuse To Bend gelding has won six of his 12 race starts in total and has earned more than $460,000 in prize money.

Trained at Randwick by Gai Waterhouse, Glencadam Gold had his first eight career runs in Great Britain before being imported to Australia earlier this year.

Also included in the 2012 Melbourne Cup first acceptances is Dunaden, who is yet to have a run  since arriving in the country last month.

The Nicobar entire has also won his only race starts in Australia, when victorious in both the Group 3 Geelong Cup and Group 1 Melbourne Cup last year.

Dunaden’s most recent result was a sixth placing in the Group 1 King George And Queen Elizabeth Stakes at Ascot Racecourse in England in July.

Southern Speed is one of the most notable absences from the 2012 Melbourne Cup first acceptances, after her camp opted to aim her at the shorter spring features instead.

Don’t forget to open an account with online bookie bookmaker.com.au in order to get the best odds on the 2012 Melbourne Cup this spring.

bookmaker.com.au are offering a bonus bet worth up to $400 to new customers who sign up today and enter the promo code BONUSBET.

So what are you waiting for? Join bookmaker.com.au and start sharing in the spring riches today!

2012 Melbourne Cup First Acceptances

No. Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 AMERICAIN (USA) Alain de Royer Dupre 1.5
2 AULD BURNS (GB) David Hayes 81
3 BACK IN BLACK (NZ) John Steffert 9.5
4 BIANMICK Michael Brady 100
5 BRIGANTIN (USA) Andre Fabre 6.5
6 BUDAI (GER) David Hayes 90
7 CAVALRYMAN (GB) Saeed Bin Suroor 5.5
8 DAME CLAIRE (NZ) Pat Carey 95
9 DANCE WITH HER David Brideoake & David Feek 103
10 DARE TO DREAM (IRE) Bart Cummings 9.5
11 DECEMBER DRAW (IRE) Mark Kavanagh 112
12 DUNADEN (FR) Mikel Delzangles 1.5
13 ETHIOPIA Pat Carey 108
14 EXCEPTIONALLY (NZ) Terry & Karina O’Sullivan 98
15 EXCLUDED (NZ) Robert Hickmott 97
17 FIORENTE (IRE) Gai Waterhouse 6
18 GALILEO’S CHOICE (IRE) Dermot K Weld 6
19 GATEWOOD (GB) John Gosden 101
20 GLENCADAM GOLD (IRE) Gai Waterhouse 8
21 GREEN MOON (IRE) Robert Hickmott 112
22 GUNS AT FIVE (NZ) Peter G Moody 90
23 IBICENCO (GER) Luca Cumani 100
24 I’M JAKE (NZ) David Brideoake & David Feek 91
25 IRONSTEIN Gerald Ryan 101
26 JAKKALBERRY (IRE) Marco Botti 4
27 KELINNI (IRE) Chris Waller 9.5
28 LE BARON (NZ) Jarrod McLean 76
29 LEICA DING Darren Weir 98
30 LESS IS MORE (FR) David Vandyke 9.5
31 LIGHTS OF HEAVEN (NZ) Peter G Moody 5
32 LOST IN THE MOMENT (IRE) Saeed Bin Suroor 6.5
33 MALUCKYDAY (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 108
34 MANIGHAR (FR) Peter G Moody 116
35 MIDAS TOUCH (GB) Robert Hickmott 107
36 MISS ARTISTIC (NZ) Shaune Ritchie 97
37 MOUDRE Ciaron Maher 104
38 MOUNT ATHOS (IRE) Luca Cumani 5.5
39 MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott 6
40 MR O’CEIRIN (NZ) Ciaron Maher 95
41 MY DANCING DUEL (NZ) Michael Moroney 9.5
42 MY QUEST FOR PEACE (IRE) Luca Cumani 6
43 NIWOT Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 108
44 PEAL OF BELLS Gwenda Markwell 9.5
45 PERMIT (GB) Chris Waller 7
46 PRAIRIE STAR (FR) Danny O’Brien 6.5
47 PRECEDENCE (NZ) Bart Cummings 105
48 RED CADEAUX (GB) Ed Dunlop 112
49 RED EYE SPECIAL (NZ) Michael Moroney 82
50 REUBEN PERCIVAL (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 98
51 RIALYA Lloyd Kennewell 99
52 SABRAGE Michael Moroney 94
53 SAINT DESIR (GB) Tony McEvoy 82
54 SANAGAS (GER) Bart Cummings 108
55 SEVILLE (GER) Robert Hickmott 108
56 SHAHWARDI (FR) Alain de Royer Dupre 101
57 SOUTHERN SPEED Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 115
58 SPECHENKA Ben Ahrens 9
59 TAC DE BOISTRON (FR) Michael Kent 6
60 TANBY Robert Hickmott 104
61 UNUSUAL SUSPECT (USA) Michael Kent 104
62 VATUVEI Peter G Moody 82
63 VERDANT (GB) Robert Smerdon 81
64 VOILA ICI (IRE) Peter G Moody 110
65 WESTERN SYMBOL (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 8
66 WINCHESTER (USA) John Sadler 111
67 ZABEELIONAIRE (NZ) Leon Corstens 101